Quantcast

BIGHORNS OPEN NINTH SEASON AT RENO EVENTS CENTER AGAINST AUSTIN SPURS ON NOV. 10

By Kyle Jones | August 25, 2017

The Reno Bighorns will host the Austin Spurs in their season home opener from the Reno Events Center on Friday, Nov. 10 at 7 p.m..

Reno kicks off their season in Oklahoma with a matinee matchup against the Blue on Sunday, Nov. 5 at Cox Convention Center (12 p.m. PST) before returning home for a two-game homestand to open their ninth season at the Reno Events Center versus the Austin Spurs on Friday, Nov. 10 (7 p.m. PST). Seven of the club’s next nine contests will take place at home, including matchups against two of the NBA G League’s newest franchises, the Wisconsin Herd (Nov. 11) and the Agua Caliente Clippers (Nov. 17). The team will host the Long Island Nets (Nov. 19) prior to traveling to southern California to face the South Bay Lakers (formerly the L.A. D-Fenders) on Wednesday, Nov. 22. The Bighorns will host the Rio Grande Valley Vipers (Nov. 25) and the Santa Cruz Warriors (Nov. 27) before the team goes on a four-game sojourn comprising stops in Erie (Dec. 2), Fort Wayne (Dec. 4), Lakeland (Dec. 6) and Greensboro (Dec. 8). The Bighorns will then return to downtown Reno for two consecutive contests at home, including matchups with the Lakers (Dec. 6) and the Westchester Knicks (Dec. 12). After that, the team will make a quick trip to Ontario to play the Clippers (Dec. 18) before hosting the Sioux Falls Sky Force (Dec. 20) and the Warriors (Dec. 22). After the Bighorns homestand, they will again travel to California for a post-holidays contest against the Clippers (Dec. 26). The team will wrap up the 2017 year with a contest against the Memphis Hustle (Dec. 28) and a visit to Texas to play the Vipers (Dec. 30).

Reno will kick off the New Year with a visit to Memphis (Jan. 2) followed by a Pacific Division clash at home with the Northern Arizona Suns (Jan. 5). The Bighorns’ January 7 contest against the Salt Lake City Stars will be hosted in Sacramento at the world’s greenest and most technologically advanced sports venue, Golden 1 Center. A nine-day, four-game travel schedule following the NBA G-League Showcase in Mississauga, Ontario (Jan. 10-13) starts with a short trip down I-80 to Santa Cruz on Wednesday, Jan. 17. The Bighorns will then embark on a Midwest jaunt to Oklahoma (Jan. 19) followed by a game in Iowa (Jan. 21). After the four-game road trip wraps up in Texas against the Legends (Jan. 23), the Bighorns will play host to the Suns (Jan. 27) and the Spurs (Jan. 29).

The Bighorns wind down the regular season with an almost balanced slate of home and road contests during the spring months, with visits from the Vipers (Feb. 2), Lakers (Feb. 3) and the Legends (Feb. 6). After traveling to Sioux Falls for back-to-back games (Feb. 9-10), the team will return to Reno to host the Stars (Feb. 21). Reno will then go on their lengthiest road trip of the season, including notable layovers in Memphis (Feb. 24), Prescott (Feb. 27 & Mar. 4), El Segundo (March 2), Austin (Mar. 9) and concluding in Frisco (Mar. 10). The trip yields to a quintet at the Reno Events Center with the Iowa Wolves (Mar. 12 & Mar. 14), Clippers (Mar. 16) and the Blue (Mar. 17). Reno will wrap up their home schedule with a matchup against the 2016-17 NBA G League Champions, the Raptors 905 on Tuesday, Mar. 20. A Pacific Division series on the road against the Stars (Mar. 23) and the Warriors (Mar. 24) will conclude the team’s regular season schedule.

Each NBA G League team will play 24 home games and 24 road games and an additional two games at the annual NBA G League Showcase from Jan. 10-13 in Ontario.  Every team will face conference opponents three or four times and play an additional 10 games against non-conference opponents.  The regular season ends on Saturday, March 24, and the 2018 NBA G League postseason will begin no earlier than Tuesday, March 27.

KEY FACTS ABOUT THE BIGHORNS 2017-18 SCHEDULE

  • By month, the schedule breaks down as follows: November (6 home, 2 away = 8 total), December (5 home, 7 away = 12 total), January (4 home, 5 away = 9 total), February (4 home, 4 away = 8 total), March (5 home, 6 away = 11 total)
  • By day, the schedule breaks down as follows: Monday (3 home, 2 away = 5  total), Tuesday (3 home, 4 away = 7 total), Wednesday (3 home, 3 away = 6 total), Thursday (1 home = 1 total), Friday (5 home, 6 away = 11 total), Saturday (6 home, 6 away = 12 total), Sunday (3 home, 3 away = 6 total).
  • The Bighorns longest homestand is five games on one occasion: (Monday, Mar. 12 thru Tuesday, Mar. 20).
  • The Bighorns embarks on its longest road trip of six games from Saturday, Feb. 24 thru Saturday, Mar. 10 with stops in Memphis (Feb. 24), Prescott (Feb. 27 & Mar. 4), El Segundo (March 2), Austin (Mar. 9) and Frisco (Mar. 10).
  • Of the team’s six back-to-back sets, three are of the home-home variety and three are away-away.
  • The Bighorns 24-game home schedule features eight weekend contests at the Reno Events Center (five games on Fridays, six on Saturdays and three on Sundays).

Full Schedule Below:

  DAY DATE OPPONENT TIME
Sun. 5-Nov-17 at Oklahoma City 12:00 PM
Fri. 10-Nov-17 Austin 7:00 PM
Sat. 11-Nov-17 Wisconsin 7:00 PM
Sat. 18-Nov-17 Agua Caliente 7:00 PM
Sun. 19-Nov-17 Long Island 6:00 PM
Wed. 22-Nov-17 at South Bay 7:00 PM
Sat. 25-Nov-17 Rio Grande V. 7:00 PM
Mon. 27-Nov-17 Santa Cruz 7:00 PM
Sat. 2-Dec-17 at Erie 4:00 PM
Mon. 4-Dec-17 at Ft. Wayne 4:00 PM
Wed. 6-Dec-17 at Lakeland 4:00 PM
Fri. 8-Dec-17 at Greensboro 4:00 PM
Sun. 10-Dec-17 South Bay 6:00 PM
Tue. 12-Dec-17 Westchester 7:00 PM
Mon. 18-Dec-17 at Agua Caliente 7:00 PM
Wed. 20-Dec-17 Sioux Falls 7:00 PM
Fri. 22-Dec-17 Santa Cruz 7:00 PM
Tue. 26-Dec-17 at Agua Caliente 7:00 PM
Thu. 28-Dec-17 Memphis 7:00 PM
Sat. 30-Dec-17 at Rio Grande V. 5:00 PM
Tue. 2-Jan-18 at Memphis 5:00 PM
Fri. 5-Jan-18 No. Arizona 7:00 PM
Sun. 7-Jan-18 Salt Lake City** 4:00 PM
Wed. 17-Jan-18 at Santa Cruz 7:00 PM
Fri. 19-Jan-18 at Oklahoma City 5:00 PM
Sun. 21-Jan-18 at Iowa 2:00 PM
Tue. 23-Jan-18 at Texas 5:00 PM
Sat. 27-Jan-18 No. Arizona 7:00 PM
Mon. 29-Jan-18 Austin 7:00 PM
Fri. 2-Feb-18 Rio Grande V. 7:00 PM
Sat. 3-Feb-18 South Bay 7:00 PM
Tue. 6-Feb-18 Texas 10:00 AM
Fri. 9-Feb-18 at Sioux Falls 5:00 PM
Sat. 10-Feb-18 at Sioux Falls 5:00 PM
Wed. 21-Feb-18 Salt Lake City 7:00 PM
Sat. 24-Feb-18 at Memphis 10:00 AM
Tue. 27-Feb-18 at No. Arizona 5:30 PM
Fri. 2-Mar-18 at South Bay 7:00 PM
Sun. 4-Mar-18 at No. Arizona 2:00 PM
Fri. 9-Mar-18 at Austin 5:30 PM
Sat. 10-Mar-18 at Texas 5:30 PM
Mon. 12-Mar-18 Iowa 7:00 PM
Wed. 14-Mar-18 Iowa 7:00 PM
Fri. 16-Mar-18 Agua Caliente 7:00 PM
Sat. 17-Mar-18 Oklahoma City 7:00 PM
Tue. 20-Mar-18 Raptors 7:00 PM
Fri. 23-Mar-18 at Salt Lake City 6:00 PM
Sat. 24-Mar-18 at Santa Cruz 7:00 PM

**Jan. 7, 2018 – Game to be played
at Golden 1 Center in Sacramento, CA

 

Download Printable Calendar Schedule Here